Here are the Michigan Private Investigator License Requirements. In Michigan, private investigators are referred to as professional investigators. Furthermore, they must be licensed by the State of Michigan. To sum up, here is everything you need to know about Michigan Private Investigator Licensing.
Michigan Private Investigator Licensing Information
NOTE: The following is general information about private detective licensing in Michigan. However, this is NOT considered to be legal advice. Please consult an attorney regarding any of the following information.
Michigan Private Investigator License Requirements
- Age: Professional investigators must be 25 years of age or older.
- You must be a US citizen and have earned at least a high school degree or equivalent. Applicants must also earn a Certificate of Corporation and be able to provide five character references from Michigan citizens who have known you for five years or more and are not related to you, whether by marriage or by birth.
- All applicants are required to undergo a criminal background check before a professional investigator license will be granted.
- You are not eligible to be an investigator in Michigan if you have been dishonorably discharged from the United States military.
- Your personal financial history will not be examined during the application process.
- Michigan has no restrictions for professional investigators based on mental health.
- You must have either a $10,000 bond or insurance policy before becoming a licensed investigator.
Private Detective License Act
Act 285 of 1965
AN ACT to license and regulate private detectives and investigators; to provide for certain powers and duties for certain state agencies and local officials; provide for the imposition for certain fees; to protect the general public against unauthorized, unlicensed and unethical operations by private detectives and private investigators; to provide for penalties and remedies; and to repeal acts and parts of acts.
History: 1965, Act 285, Imd. Eff. July 22, 1965 ;– Am. 2002, Act 474, Eff. Oct. 1, 2002
338.823 License required; violation; penalty.
- A person, firm, partnership, company, limited liability company, or corporation shall not engage in the business of private detective or investigator for hire, fee or reward, and shall not advertise his or her business to be that of detective or of a detective agency without first obtaining a license from the department.
- Person, firm, partnership, company, limited liability company, or corporation shall not engage in the business of furnishing or supplying, for hire and reward, information as to the personal character of any person or firm, or as to the character or kind of business and occupation of any person, firm, partnership, company, limited liability company, or corporation and shall not own, conduct, or maintain a bureau or agency for the purposes described in this subsection except as to the financial rating of persons, firms, partnerships, companies, limited liability companies, or corporations without having first obtained a license from the department.
- A person violating this section is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or by a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both.
338.830 License; suspension or revocation; grounds; surrendering license and identification card; noncompliance as misdemeanor.
- The department may suspend or revoke a license issued under this act if the department determines that the licensee or licensee’s manager, if an individual, or if the licensee is a person other than an individual, that an officer, director, partner, or its manager, has done any of the following:
- Made false statements or given false information in connection with an application for a license or a renewal or reinstatement of a license.
- Violated this act or any rule promulgated under this act.
- Been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving dishonesty or fraud, unauthorized divulging or selling of information or evidence.
- A conviction of impersonation of a law enforcement officer or employee of the United States or a state, or a political subdivision of the United States or a state.
- Been convicted of illegally using, carrying, or possessing a dangerous weapon.
- Upon notification from the department of the suspension or revocation of the license, the licensee, within 24 hours, shall surrender to the department the license and his or her identification card. Failure to surrender the license in compliance with this subsection is a misdemeanor.
338.836 Use of unauthorized badge, shield, identification card or license; violation; penalties.
- A person shall not possess or display a badge or shield that purports to indicate that the holder is a private detective.
- Thus, a licensee may request authorization to provide employee identification cards. But only upon the express authorization of the department as to format and content.
- Moreover, a person shall not display any badge, shield, identification card, or license that might mislead the public into thinking that the holder is a licensed detective.
- Furthermore, a person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and any unauthorized badge, shield, identification card, or license shall be confiscated by any law enforcement officer of the state. Each day the violation continues shall constitute a separate offense.
338.840 Divulging of information; willful sale of or furnishing false information; penalty; privileged communications; notice and hearing.
- Any person who is or has been an employee of a licensee shall not divulge to anyone. However, other than his or her employer or former employer, or as the employer shall direct. In addition, any employee violating the provisions of this section and any employee who willfully makes a false report to his or her employer in respect to any work is guilty of a misdemeanor.
- Furthermore, a principal, manager, or employee of a licensee who willfully furnishes false information to clients, or who willfully sells, divulges, or otherwise discloses to other than clients, except as may be required by law, any information acquired during employment by the client is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to summary suspension of license and revocation of license upon satisfactory proof of the offense to the department. Therefore, any communications, oral or written, furnished by a professional or client to a licensee, or any information secured in connection with an assignment for a client, is considered privileged with the same authority and dignity as are other privileged communications recognized by the courts of this state.
- Suspension, revocation, or other action against a licensee shall be accompanied by notice. Thus, an opportunity for a hearing under the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328.
338.844 Record of business transaction and reports; retention.
- Each person, partnership, firm, company, limited liability company, or corporation licensed and operating under this act shall make a complete written record. Thus, business transactions and reports made in connection with the operation of the agency.
- Furthermore, a detective or detective agency that receives or generates a written or electronic report shall keep the report on file. Disqualifications: For example, you will be disqualified from investigative work if you have committed a felony or misdemeanor involving impersonating a government official, assault, illegal possession or use of a firearm, fraud, selling information or evidence, controlled substances or two or more alcohol based offenses.
Education and Experience
- Professional Experience: Most importantly, Michigan requires at least an accredited bachelor’s degree in a field related to professional investigation.
Michigan Private Investigator Training
Firstly, Michigan requires that you complete a baccalaureate degree or a postgraduate degree. Furthermore, there are a few popular degree choices for individuals seeking a career as an investigator. For example, computer forensics, criminal justice, investigation, and security management.
Forms Needed for a Private Detective License in Michigan
- Application Fees: For example, The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs charges a $750 fee for professional investigator licenses.
- Registration Process: Firstly, you will complete and submit your license to the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. In addition, include a copy of your insurance policy or bond, the required five character references. . In conclusion, once your application passes approval, you will then become a licensed professional investigator.
Michigan Private Investigator Salary
In conclusion, the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) gathers career information for many professions, including private investigators. Moreover, the latest BLS report compiled in May of 2015 indicated that 260 professional investigators were working in Michigan. Furthermore, their yearly salary averaged $42,540.
Eye Spy is Michigan’s top professional investigative agency. Eye Spy has been in business for over 30 years at the same location. We have the largest staff of full time, professional investigators. Our dedicated team of experts are available to consult with 24/7. Call Eye Spy today 888-393-7799.